Scottish Community Drama Edinburgh District
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via e-mail Print

(Results) The 2017 Edinburgh round of the SCDA One-Act Festival was held  between Thursday 16th - Saturday 18th February 2017  at the Church Hill Theatre, Morningside Road, Edinburgh. The adjudicator was  Scott Marshall, an experienced adjudicator from Northern Ireland.

We had nine entries from six of our clubs: Caveat Theatre, Edinburgh Graduate Theatre Group (GRADS), Edinburgh Makars, Indelible Arts Youth Theatre, Leitheatre and Penicuik Community Theatre Group.  The results are as follows:

Edith Forbes Trophy - Winner: A Wake For Donald by Evelyn Hood   -  Leitheatre Kirkgate

Mrs Charles Rowland Cup - Runner Up: Contractions by Mike Bartlett -   Edinburgh Graduate Theatre Group

Ian Wishart Quaich - Third: Getting On by Chares Mander – Edinburgh Makars.

Those three teams will proceed to the Eastern Divisional Final at the Albert Halls, Stirling 23 to 25 March

Bobby Watt Cup - Best Stage Presentation:  Leitheatre Kirkgate

Eric Bennett Trophy-- Highest Marks For Production: Leitheatre Kirkgate

Margaret Allan Quaich - Highest Marks For Acting : EGTG.

The Winner of the Youth section was Indelible Arts Youth Theatre – North Berwick, with Sparkleshark by Philip Ridley.

They will represent Edinburgh at the Eastern Divisional Youth Final at Church Hill Sunday 9th April.

Indelible Arts Youth Theatre – North Berwick were also chosen as Best First Entry (Sadie Aitken Shield), and they were awarded the John McIntyre Trophy for Best Moment In Theatre, by the Emergency Panel.

The winners and runners up from the Divisional final will go forward to the Scottish Final, Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Pitlochry, from 13th to 15th April 2017 so hope to see you there too.

Susan Wales

Secretary : SCDA Edinburgh District / Eastern Division

20th February 2017